School House, 1860.

School House has been in continuous use as a School boarding house since 1860.

The cornerstone of School House was laid on 26 June 1860 by Anthony Ashley-Cooper, seventh earl of Shaftesbury.  The new building was designed by William Slater and built by John Guppy for an initial cost of about £5,000, and was the first purpose-built boarding accommodation at Sherborne School.

The private side was occupied by the Headmaster who until 1946 was also housemaster of School House.  In 1903, a bay window was built onto the west side of the Lower Study to mark the School once again attaining a total of 200 pupils after a fall in numbers in the 1890s during E.M. Young’s headmastership.

Subsequent additions and improvements to School House include the castellated bay window on south side of Headmaster’s study (1884); drying room (1898); merger of dormitories (1898), shower room (1903); inner bike shed, the gift of J.B. Carrington (1905); changing room, the gift of J.B. Carrington (1909); east windows in dayroom (1912); bathrooms, the original bathroom was on the ground floor on left of boys’ entrance (1912); lowering the wall between School House and School House Studies (now the Headmaster’s building) (1928); enlargement of bathrooms (1935); re-flooring of dormitories (1936); dayroom yard (1937); west window in House Tutor’s study (1958); back garden (1959); and the dormitory extension to the east (1970).

Former pupils of Sherborne School who have boarded at School House include Clive Carey, Arthur Carr, Derman Christopherson, Ron Cunningham ‘The Great Omani’, Nigel Dempster, T.G. Devitt, Charles Dick, Robert Key, William Bruce Knight, Geoffrey Lunt, Rupert Maas, Simon McCoy, Ian Messiter, Henry Ruthven MooreLance Percival, Littleton Albert Powys, Torsten Ullman, Alec Waugh, George Weldon, Alfred North Whitehead, Roland Young.

House letter: a.

House colours: magenta and black.

Until 1946 the Headmaster was in charge of School House
1946       Arthur Bellyse Gourlay (1907-1976)
1961       Lionel Edward Cassels Bruce (1917-1993)
1969       Peter Clement Boissier (1921-2004)
1979       Michael Higginbottom
1983       George H.J. Facer
1990       Stephen D.A. Meek
1995       Carlo V.J. Ferrario
1999       Peter J. Watts
2010       Kester Jackson

Online Resources:

For further information about the Sherborne School Archives please contact the School Archivist

Return to the School Archives homepage